Road Closures - Birr Area

The roads shall be closed a number of days for part of the following period 26th June 2017 to 31st October 2017.

The following are the roads that will be closed due to surface reconstruction/ restoration works

The roads shall be closed a number of days for part of the following period 26th June 2017 to 31st October 2017.

  • R-490                       Moneygall to Cloghjordan road at the Sweep.

Alternate Route:   From Moneygall on the R490, turn left at Robertson cross roads onto the L-8030 towards Emmel, At Emmel Cross turn right onto the L4024, follow the road to Cloughjordan.

  • R-492                       Currlanty Bog Entrance.

Alternate Route:   From Sharavogue continue on the N62 towards Roscrea, at the Fountain Cross roads turn right for Brosna Village on the L-4011. At Brosna Village turn right and continue on this road until Shinrone.

  • R-440                       Kinnitty to Mountrath (Mountain Road .

Alternate Route:   From Kinnitty, travel the L-4025, L4026 and R421 to Roscrea. At Roscrea turn right onto the N62 and at the next junction turn left onto the R445 for Borris-in-Ossory. Follow the R445 until you reach Mountrath.

  • R436                        Ferbane to Ballycumber at Leabeg.

Alternate Route:   From Ferbane town to Doon cross on N62, at Doon Cross turn right for Ballycumber on the R444 and L-7001.

  • R438                        Cloghan to Borrisokane at Timolin.

Alternate Route:   From Cloghan turn left onto the N62 to Birr, at Birr continue on the N52 until Borrisokane.

  • R357                        Cloghan to Shannonbridge at Galros.

Alternate Route:   From Cloghan Village turn for Ferbane onto the N62. At Ferbane turn left towards Belmont on the L3004, and L3009 until Moytown Cross turn right onto the R357 to Shannonbridge.

  • R444                        Moate to Doon at Esker.

Alternate Route:   From Moate continue on the R446 towards Athlone, Turn left onto the N62 where the R446 meets the N62 towards Ferbane and Doon.

  • R444                        Doon to Clonmacnoise

Alternate Route:   From Doon continue on the N62 towards Athlone and Ballinahown. At Ballinahown Village turn left onto the L3008 continue on this road towards Clonmacnoise.

  • R439                        Birr to Taylors Cross at Ross

Alternate Route:   From Birr continue on the N52 to Kennedy’s Cross, turn left onto the N62 for Cloghan.

 At Cloghan turn left onto the R438 and continue until Taylors Cross.

L4004                   Miletree Junction to      Whiteford Cross

L-8003-4              . Glendine (Slieve Bloom Way)      to County Bounds

L-7006-2              Old Rath Road

L-8032-2              Brooks Cross - Derrinclare

L-4018-1              Shinrone - Ballygarry Rd

L-8024-4              Crinkle - Boherdeel

L-8008-1              Lofus Bridge - Longford      Little

L-80233-1            Clonlisk School Rd

L-8037-1              Glasshouse - Keeloge Bridge


L-4023                 Loughan      House towards Cullenwaine

L-8030                 Ballynakill      to Foxburrow

L-8020                 Ballyclery      to Clonagannagh

L-8023                 Watery      X towards Streamstown

L-8032                 Brooks      Cross - Derrinclare

L-8028                 Derrymacedmond

L-4003                 Fancroft      X towards Coolderry

L-4026                 Newtown      towords Roscomroe

L-8010                 Longford      towards Birr Lane

L-4007                 Miltree      towards Castletown X

L-4004                 Fortal      X towards Miltree

L-8021                 Long      Island to Clonbrone

L-70041                Ballinree      Lane

L-8006-1              Walk Bridge towards Kinnitty


L-7012                 Clonfanlough

L-7003-1              Parkmore - Rath

L-8037-1              Ballymaddock - Curragh Upper

L-2010-5              Kilgolan Lower

L-6025-2              Luganiska - Ballyboy

L-3004-2      & -3     Ballyclare &      Ballinloman

L-70209-1            Derryneavy Turraun


L-2027                 Ballycollin Lower

L-6038                 Kilgolan Upper

L-2021                 Ballyboy towards Mountbolus

L-2024                 Wooden bridge towards      Broughal X

L-7017                 Cogran

L-7014                 Shannonharbour towards      Clonony

L-30091                Faddenmore

L-70078                Derrica Beg

L-70026                Straduff

L-7020                 Derrynagun towards      Leamanaghan

L-7001-2              Springpark      towards Devery's X

L-3003                 Split Hills

L-7014                 Harbour Cross to Shannon      Harbour


The road closures are necessary for essential road maintenance to the road network in the Municipal District of Birr. All roads will have diversion routes in place when roads are closed.


Offaly County Council regrets any inconvenience to road users but the closure of these roads is necessary for essential road maintenance.