The Cathaoirleach of Offaly County Council Declan Harvey said ‘ I would like to congratulate  Geashill on their achievement all the many other groups that managed to make progress at during this  difficult time.  It has given communities a great lift across the county’.


Anna Marie Delaney, Chief Executive of Offaly County Council has congratulated Geashill Tidy Towns on their huge achievement winning the National Title of Ireland’s Tidiest Village at the National Tidy Towns awards.  ‘In what has been the most challenging of years, Geashill has won Ireland’s Tidiest Village.  This is the culmination of many years of planning and laying the foundations by Geashill.    Geashill  have worked with the Offaly Tidy Towns Network and developed their Public Realm Plan; a Biodiversity Plan and in particular their tree planting and pollinator actions. They are Offaly’s only Architectural Conservation Area and the Bioblitz that they hosted demonstrates how the Tidy Towns competition encompasses so many areas of work.


During what has been the most challenging 18 months they have kept working, taking every opportunity to develop projects in their plan.  In particular I would like to welcome the partnership with the National School who are very proactive. In 2021 Geashill have worked with artist Luke Carson to develop a very engaging sculpture to mark the famous Geashill Pig Fairs and I would like to acknowledge the support of Creative Ireland for this project, the Heremon and Heber Sculpture  and the Poet Egan project in Geashill.  The Council has supported the Tidy Towns most recently with the undergrounding of wires and upgrading of the lighting and streetscape around the Green through the Town and Village Renewal  programme and I would like to acknowledge the role of the Edenderry Municipal District staff in delivering this programme.


Geashill have won the County Award for the past 9 years and last year won the All Ireland  Pollinator Award and I would like to commend them on sharing the knowledge that they have acquired by giving talks to the PPN and hosting a range of groups that have visited Geashill.


Clonbullogue has long been a pioneer of Tidy Towns in Offaly and this year they came in second place to Geashill in the county awards followed closely by Tullamore.  Tullamore and Geashill both retained their gold medals, Birr their silver and  Clonbullogue their bronze.  Ballycumber has been awarded the Endeavour Award for the entry which has made most progress within the year.


In the Small Towns category neighbouring Abbeyleix won the National Title which is a very positive midlands achievement and we extend our congratulations to them.  I congratulate all 20 Towns and Villages in Offaly that entered the competition this year and we look forward to working with all Tidy Towns groups  in Offaly who are striving to improve their towns and villages as places to work and visit.