The Government has agreed that Level 5 (with some amendments) as set out in the Plan for Living with COVID-19 will continue to apply nationally until July 5th 2021. The Government has clearly stated that there is a continued need to minimise the level of mobility and congregation of people in order to reduce all opportunities for transmission of the virus.

Please note that our library buildings have reopened to the public for Browsing Services and Contact & Collect since Monday, May 10th. Please see Library Page.

Consequently, and in line with current public health guidance, the Offices of Offaly County Council are closed for walk-in services to support this reduced mobility policy.

Public access cannot be facilitated during LEVEL 5 restrictions. Therefore, Offaly County Council services will be available by telephone, email, online post and only where absolutely necessary and in exceptional circumstances by appointment. Please read latest information.

Offaly Local Development Committee (LCDC)


Offaly LCDC Logo

The Offaly Local Community Development Committee (LCDC) was established by Offaly County Council in 2014 in response to Putting People First – Action Programme for Effective Local Governmentreforms to improve the delivery of services for the citizen, greater efficiency and effectiveness and gives local government a central role in local and community development. This places local government as the main vehicle of governance and public service at local level – leading economic, social and community development, delivering efficient and good value services, and representing citizens and local communities effectively and accountably.

The LCDC includes Public and Private interests in the County: 3 Offaly County Council elected Councillors; Community, Voluntary & Environmental representatives; State Agencies, and the Local Development Company.  

The Chief Officer of the Local Community Development Committee Ann Dillon, Senior Executive Officer, Community and Culture Section, Offaly County Council, Ph: 057 93 46800.

To date the Offaly LCDC has:

  • Dispersed €196,952 in Community Enhancement Programme funding in 2020 and €150,330 in 2019.

  • Dispersed €65,553 in COVID-19 Emergency Funding in May 2020

 Offaly LCDC Members - Statutory Interests 9
SectorMember NameOrganisation
Local Authority Elected Members

Cllr  Declan Harvey      (Chair)

Cllr John Leahy

Cllr Noel Cribbin

Offaly County Council                                                                 

Offaly County Council

Offaly County Council

Local Authority Officials

Anna Marie Delaney

Orla Martin

Offaly County Council

Offaly County Council

State Agencies

Colin Flaherty

Con Feighery

Ryan McKay

Ann Sheerin

Laois & Offaly Education and Training Board


Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection

Health Services Executive

 Offaly LCDC Members - Non Statutory Interests 10
Community & Voluntary

Sinead McDonagh (Vice-Chair)

Sylvia Sweeney

Offaly Public Participation Network Community Representatives (2)

Social Inclusion


Deirdre Arnold

Olive O'Sullivan

Offaly Public Participation Network Social Inclusion Representatives (2)

EnvironmentRebekah KeavenyOffaly Public Participation Network Environmental Representative (1)

Local Development

and Community

Development bodies

Brendan O’LoughlinOffaly Local Development Company

Other civic society or

‘local and community’


Dominic Doheny

Richard Scally

Fechin Daly

Christina Byrne

Construction Industry Federation

Offaly Irish Farmers Association

Construction Industry

Slieve Bloom Rural Development Co-operative

 Total Offaly LCDC Membership 19

Background information to the LCDC

What is the Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)?

LCDCs have been set up to bring about a more coordinated approach to the management of local development and community funding in Offaly. The committee has a number of functions amongst which are:

    • To prepare a six-year Local Economic and Community Plan (LECP) for Offaly
    • To co-ordinate, manage and oversee the implementation of local community development programmes including the Social Inclusion Community Activation Programme (SICAP)
    • In Offaly, the LCDC is the Local Action Group (LAG) application for LEADER/Rural Development Programme 2014-2020 funds.

The LCDC in Offaly is supported by Offaly County Council and involves representatives from further education, business, agriculture, community as well as locally elected councillors.