The Government has agreed that Level 5 (with some amendments) as set out in the Plan for Living with COVID-19 will continue to apply nationally until further notice. The Government has clearly stated that there is a continued need to minimise the level of mobility and congregation of people in order to reduce all opportunities for transmission of the virus.

Please note that our library buildings have reopened to the public for Browsing Services and Contact & Collect since Monday, May 10th. Please see Library Page.

Consequently, and in line with current public health guidance, the Offices of Offaly County Council are closed for walk-in services to support this reduced mobility policy.

Public access cannot be facilitated during LEVEL 5 restrictions. Therefore, Offaly County Council services will be available by telephone, email, online post and only where absolutely necessary and in exceptional circumstances by appointment. Please read latest information.

What is the Register of Electors?

The Register of electors is a list of residents who are registered to vote at an Election or Referendum. The life of the Register is one year. The 2021/2022 Register of Electors will be published on 1st February 2021 and will come into effect on 15th February 2021.

Check you are registered to vote on

For any further queries, call to our office or contact 05793 57402 or email

Voting…It’s the only way to have your say!

Draft Register of Electors 2021/2022

Notice is hereby given that the Draft Register of Electors for 2021/2022 was published on the 1st November 2020.

This Draft Register of Electors can be checked at your local Post Office, Public Library, Garda Station, Courthouse or Local Authority Office.

Make sure you can vote by ensuring that your name is on the Draft Register of Electors by 25th November 2020.

If you have a physical illness or disability or your occupation or place of study prevents you from voting at your polling station, you should apply to go on the Postal or Special Voters List, as appropriate, by 25th November next.

Any person who wishes to check if they are on the current Draft 2021/2022 Register of Electors may check same on Offaly County Council website – or

Any queries should be directed to the Voter Registration Section, Offaly County Council, Áras an Chontae, Charleville Road, Tullamore, Co. Offaly.  Telephone 057 9357402.


Who is eligible to be on the Register of Electors?

To be eligible to be on the Register of Electors you must:

  • Be18 years old or older on 15th February the year the Register comes into force
  • Be ordinarily resident in the county

Who is eligible to vote?

To be eligible to vote you must:

  • Be 18 years of age on or before polling day.
  • Be ordinarily resident in the County.
  • Have your name entered on the Register of Electors or Supplement to the Register.

To register to vote:

To be included in the Register complete the following registration form. Voter Registration Form

Note : The voters’ register is published on 1st February each year and comes into force on 15th February.

Check these 2 things before submitting your form:

  1. Check the Register of Electors on line at to see if you are already registered to vote or alternatively at your local Post Office, Public Library, Garda Station, Courthouse or Council Office.
  2. Check your voting rights. Your voting rights depend on your citizenship:
  • Referenda: Only Irish citizens can vote in referenda e.g. to vote for or against a proposal to modify the Irish constitution (Bunreacht na hÉireann).
  • Elections for Dáil Éireann: Both Irish and British citizens can vote in elections for Dáil Éireann (the lower house of parliament).
  • Elections for the European Parliament: Irish, British and other European Union (EU) citizens can vote in elections for the European Parliament.
  • Elections for Local Government: Irish, British, EU and non-EU citizens can vote in local elections.

Note : You may be required to produce documentary evidence to support your eligibility to vote, e.g. a birth certificate, a certificate of naturalisation.

Completed forms must be returned to the following address:

Offaly County Council
Franchise Section
Áras an Chontae
Charleville Road
Co. Offaly 

Please call 057 9357402 (Offaly County Council Franchise Section) for further information.

Incorrect details on Register: If you are listed on the register but your details are incorrect and you wish to amend them, please submit the following form Correction to Draft Register

RFA1 - Claim for Correction English (2).pdf (size 137.6 KB)

RFA1 - Claim for Correction Irish.pdf (size 345.9 KB)

PV1 - Application Form for Inclusion on the Postal Voters List due to Physical Illness or Disability.pdf (size 222.3 KB)

Supplement to the Register of Electors 2021/2022

RFA.2.Supplement to Register of Electors Form

RFA 3 - Change of Address Form  - Application for inclusion in the Supplement to the Register of Electors