Offaly County Council wishes to advise that the following Public Offices will re- open public counters on Thursday 5th August 2021 from 9.30 am to 1.00 pm Monday to Friday:

Áras an Chontae, Charleville Road, Tullamore

Tullamore Tullamore Municipal District Offices

The Public Offices listed below will open as follows:

** Edenderry Municipal District Offices (Tuesday-Thursday each week from 9.30 am to 1.00 pm only)

** Birr Municipal District Offices (Tuesday-Thursday each week from 9.30 am to 1pm only)

At Áras an Chontae, Tullamore, counter services for Planning, Roads, the Local Enterprise Office, Community & Culture, Corporate Services, Water Services and Environment will be available by APPOINTMENT MADE IN ADVANCE only.

Where possible the public should continue to access our services by phone, email, online or by appointment. Please read for latest information and measures in place.

Eastern and Midlands Waste Management Plan

Offaly County Council is one of twelve Local Authorities who comprise the Eastern and Midlands Region regarding waste management planning. The Eastern and Midlands Region is made up of the following Councils – Offaly, Laois, Westmeath, Longford, Dublin City (Lead Authority), South Dublin, Fingal, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Wicklow, Louth, Kildare and Meath.

A six year plan was adopted in May 2015 and it sets out targets and objectives for the management of waste within the region. The focus of the Plan has moved from recycling to waste prevention and specific objectives have been outlined to achieve this.

There are two more  waste management regions in Ireland – the Connaught Ulster Region and the Southern Region.

The current plan will be implemented over the period 2015-2021.

Eastern and Midlands Region Waste Management Plan