The Government has agreed that Level 5 (with some amendments) as set out in the Plan for Living with COVID-19 will continue to apply nationally until July 5th 2021. The Government has clearly stated that there is a continued need to minimise the level of mobility and congregation of people in order to reduce all opportunities for transmission of the virus.

Please note that our library buildings have reopened to the public for Browsing Services and Contact & Collect since Monday, May 10th. Please see Library Page.

Consequently, and in line with current public health guidance, the Offices of Offaly County Council are closed for walk-in services to support this reduced mobility policy.

Public access cannot be facilitated during LEVEL 5 restrictions. Therefore, Offaly County Council services will be available by telephone, email, online post and only where absolutely necessary and in exceptional circumstances by appointment. Please read latest information.

About Us

Birr Castle Forum photo Dec 2013

1995 Heritage Act

In the 1995 Heritage Act, heritage encompasses monuments, archaeological objects, heritage objects, architectural heritage, flora, fauna, wildlife habitats, landscapes, seascapes, wrecks, geology, heritage gardens and parks, inland waterways.

Event Updates and Programmes

For an email reminder of Offaly Heritage News & Events register with the Offaly heritage office.  There are also regular updates on Offaly Heritage facebook.

There is a free Annual Heritage Seminar each autumn to update on the projects being progressed in the county.

Offaly Heritage Office

The Heritage Office was established in November 2000. The Offaly Heritage Forum meets four times annually, with working groups meeting as needed.  The Offaly Heritage Office, along with the members of the Offaly Heritage Forum, aims to 'work with all of us in Offaly, to increase awareness and appreciation of our manmade, cultural and natural heritage, leading to actions which promote its protection, enhancement and vitality.'

The role of the Heritage Officer is to

  • work with the Heritage Forum to deliver the 2017-21 Offaly Heritage Plan
  • work with groups and individuals to help plan and deliver appropriate heritage related projects
  • to assist all sections of Offaly Local Authorities on heritage related matters

Heritage Council

The Heritage Council part-funds the network of 28 City/County Heritage Officers in Local Authorities across the country. The Heritage Council’s vision is that the value of our heritage is enjoyed, managed and protected for the vital contribution that it makes to our identity, well-being and future. Download a brochure on the role of heritage officers.

For more information on the work of the Heritage Council, please visit     heritage council logo

Offaly Heritage Forum

Member  Representing Organisation

Cllr Eamon Dooley  Strategic Policy Committee chair,Offaly County Council

Teresa Ryan Feehan Offaly Community Forum

Brian Caffrey   BirdWatch Ireland

Andrew Murray  Senior Planner, Planning Department, Offaly County Council

Rachel McKenna  County Architect, Offaly County Council

Bridget Horan Farming Organisations

Lisa Shortall   Offaly Historical and Archaeological Society

Christine Byrne  Slieve Bloom Rural Development

Fiona Devery  Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland

Tom Egan  Bord na Mona Energy Ltd

Conor English   Coillte

Pending    Teagasc

Louis Byrne  Waterways Ireland

Colm Malone National Parks and Wildlife, Dept CHG

Caimin O'Brien  National Monuments Division, Dept CHG

Maura Allen  Offaly Local Development Company

Basil Mannion Water and Communities Office

Amanda Pedlow, Offaly Heritage Officer, Offaly County Council