The Government has agreed that Level 5 as set out in the Plan for Living with COVID-19 will apply nationally until January 31st 2021. The Government has clearly stated that there is an absolute need to minimise the level of mobility and congregation of people in order to reduce all opportunities for transmission of the virus.

Consequently, and in line with current public health guidance, the Offices of Offaly County Council are closed for walk-in services to support this reduced mobility policy.

Public access cannot be facilitated during LEVEL 5 restrictions. Therefore, Offaly County Council services will be available by telephone, email, online post and only where absolutely necessary and in exceptional circumstances by appointment. Please read latest information.

Level 3 of the Plan for Living with COVID-19

Offaly Libraries in Level 3:

In line with the Government's decision for the country to move to Level 3 of the Plan for Living with COVID-19, Offaly Libraries will revert to Contact and Collect services only from Wednesday, 7th October.

This means our library branches will not be open for browsing and computer visits.

Our national online catalogue is active, so books can be reserved both by email and via phone for collection at your chosen Offaly library branch.

Full details of our Contact and Collect service are here which includes contact details for your local branch. We'll contact you once your requested item(s) are ready for collection.

Our Contact and Collect Service enables users to request and return library material in Banagher, Birr, Clara, Daingean, Edenderry, Ferbane, Kilcormac, and Tullamore Libraries.

Contact and collect logo 4 steps

Offaly Libraries Contact and Collect Service - How-to Guide:

  1. Telephone or email your nearest participating library
  2. Provide your name, contact information, card number and your broad preferences/area of interest
  3. Library Staff will select a maximum of 5 items of library stock and contact you with an allocated collection time
  4. At the agreed collection time you will collect your items from a designated collection area at the library entrance

Return of Items

Return bins are available at each of our libraries to facilitate the return of library stock.

We would like to assure you that all health and safety protocols will be observed for the benefit of both library users and staff. Please do not visit the library to collect books unless you have been contacted by library staff with an allocated collection time.

 

Offaly Libraries Contact and Collect Service is available from:

Banagher Library – Phone: 057 9151471, Email: banagherlibrary@offalycoco.ie

Birr Library – Phone: 057 9124950, Email: birrlibrary@offalycoco.ie

Clara Library – Phone: 057 9331389, Email: claralibrary@offalycoco.ie

Daingean Library – Phone: 057 9353005, Email: daingeanlibrary@offalycoco.ie

Edenderry Library – Phone: 046 9731028, Email: edenderrylibrary@offalycoco.ie

Ferbane Library – Phone: 090 6454259, Email: ferbanelibrary@offalycoco.ie

Kilcormac Library – Phone: 057 9135086, Email: kilcormaclibrary@offalycoco.ie

Tullamore Library - Phone: 057 9346832, Email: tullamorelibrary@offalycoco.ie

Digital Resources

Offaly Libraries will continue to provide access to extensive free digital resources and online programmes during this period. Offaly Libraries is delighted to bring you a fun-filled Children’s Book Festival Programme for the month of October. Our library staff will curate a programme of Author Readings, Storytimes, arts and crafts, and more! 

Watch out for the first ‘virtual’ Hullabaloo! Children’s Arts Festival when Offaly Libraries will host a number of virtual workshops for children in dance, music, arts, crafts, and singing. The festival will take place from Wednesday 28th – Saturday 31st October 2020.

 

Don’t forget all the other free library services we continue to offer:

 

For full details of this service and FAQs please visit our website www.offaly.ie/libraries and keep up to date with all library developments by subscribing to our online newsletter at https://bit.ly/3cntW2d  

Footer with Social Media and New Logo