Women's prize for fiction 2020


Women's prize for fiction 2020


The Women’s Prize for Fiction, the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating and honouring fiction by women, has announced its 2020 longlist. Now in its 25th anniversary year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women in English from across the world.


The longlist of 16 novels follow in alphabetical order by author’s surname:

Women's prize for fiction 2020 longlist


The judging panel will now whittle these 16 books down to a shortlist of just 6 novels, announced on April 22nd. The 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday 3rd June.  The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited-edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

Join in the conversation @WomensPrize about this year’s brilliant novels.

Find out more about the longlist


back to top