Notice of Intention to Renew Prospecting Licences under the Minerals Development Acts, 1940-1999.

Notice of Intention to Renew Prospecting Licences

Pursuant to section 8(6) of the Minerals Development Act 1940, as inserted by section 2 of the Minerals Development Act 1995, the Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications intends to renew the prospecting licences for Base Metals, Barytes, Gold (Ores of.) and Silver (Ores of.) held by, Boliden Tara Mines Limited, Knockumber, Navan, Meath, C15 NH63 over the following Townlands of Counties Offaly and Westmeath.

Notice of Intention 

Notice of Intention to Renew Licences, EU GDPR.pdf (size 149.7 KB)

Townlands in Ballycowan Barony, County Offaly:
Acantha, Aghancarnan, Ardan, Balleek, Balleek Beg, Ballybought, Ballycallaghan, Ballycosney, Ballynamona, Ballynasrah or Tinnycross, Cartron East, Corndarragh, Culleen, Derrynagall or Ballydaly, Durrow Demesne, Gormagh, Lug, Puttaghan, Rosnagowloge or Tirinchinan
PLA3956.pdf (size 1.9 MB)

Townlands in Coolestown Lower Barony:
Ballycon, Ballyhugh, Ballyhugh or Springfield, Drumcaw or Mountlucas, Esker Beg, Killeen, Newtown
PLA3941.pdf (size 1.2 MB)

Townlands in Fartullagh Barony:
Ballintlevy, Beggstown, Bellfield or Brannockstown, Castlelost, Castlelost West, Clontytallon, Derry, Dunboden Demesne, Fearmore, Gallstown, Gaybrook Demesne, Gibbonstown, Gortumly, Kilbride, Mahonstown, Rathcam or Lemongrove, Simonstown, Tyrrellstown, Whitewell, Windmill or Blackislands
PLA3944.pdf (size 1.3 MB)

Townlands in Fartullagh Barony, Co. Westmeath:
Kiltotan and Collinstown, Rathgarret, Rahincuill
PLA3946.pdf (size 1.3 MB)

Townlands in Moycashel Barony:
Cappanrush, Cornaher, Garryduff (E.D. Newtown), Kilcloghan, Killavally, Kiltober, Monasset, Montrath, Pallasboy, Rahinashurock, Rossbeg, Sonnagh, Torque
PLA3948.pdf (size 1.1 MB)

Townlands in Moycashel Barony, County Westmeath :
Ballycahan, Keeloge
PLA3956.pdf (size 1.9 MB)

Townlands in Moycastle Barony:
Aghuldred, Ardan, Ardnaglew, Atticonor, Ballybroder, Ballymachugh, Brownscurragh, Cappalahy, Clonaglin, Demesne or Mearsparkfarm, Derrygolan, Frevanagh, Garryduff (E.D. Ballynagore), Grange and Kiltober, Hallsfarm, Kilbeggan, Kilbeggan North, Kilbeggan South, Lowertown, Newtownlow, Pallas, Rahugh, Rostalla, Skeahanagh, Stonehousefarm
PLA3947.pdf (size 1.4 MB)

Townlands in Philipstown Lower Barony:
Ballycommon, Ballylennon, Ballymullen, Ballyteige Big, Ballyteige Little, Barnaboy, Barrysbrook, Bracklin Big, Bracklin Little, Cappagh, Castlebarnagh Big, Castlebarnagh Little, Clonad, Clonarrow or Riverlyons, Coole, Cruit, Derries, Derrygrogan Big, Derrygrogan Little, Fairfield, Fortyacres (E.D. Philipstown), Gorteen Killeen, Island , Kilclonfert,, Killaderry , Killoneen, Kilmurry, Lackan, Mullagharush, Mullalough or Cavemount, Oldtown, Rathdrum, Toberronan, Togher, Townparks, Wood of O
PLA1341.pdf (size 1.3 MB)
PLA3940.pdf (size 1.3 MB)
PLA3943.pdf (size 1.3 MB)

Townlands in Philipstown Lower Barony, Co. Offaly:
Ballybeg, Ballyfore, Bunsallagh, Derryarkin, Derrycoffey, Kilcorbry
PLA3946.pdf (size 1.3 MB)

Townlands in Warrenstown Barony:
Clonin, Coolcor, Derrygreenagh, Derryiron, Knockdrin, Road, Toberdaly
PLA3943.pdf (size 1.3 MB)

Due to Covid-19 (Coronavirus) restrictions, please note the following

Maps and townland lists should be viewed on the Government of Ireland website and these are available at

Where possible, they will be made available at Tullamore and Mullingar Garda Stations; Offaly and Westmeath County Council Offices; the Geological Survey of Ireland, Beggar's Bush, Dublin, D04 K7X4 and the address below.

Objections to the renewal of the licences should be made to the address below within 30 days of the date of this Notice.

The Minister reserves the right to make details of the objections available to the applicant in order to fully consider their validity.

**NB: A prospecting licence entitles the holder to explore for mineral deposits and does not authorise mining of any minerals. The activities permissible under a licence are, in general, non-invasive and of minimal environmental impact. The Minister has assessed the exploration programme proposed by the company and has determined that the activities are not likely to have a significant effect on the environment.

Further information, statutory notice and Minister’s determination at: Geoscience Regulation Office Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications 29-31 Adelaide Road Dublin D02 X285 Ph. (01) 678 2668 Email: